Welcome to the 22nd Asian Workshop on First-Principles Electronic Structure Calculations.
The Workshop is an annual series starting in 1998 to provide a forum for discussing all the important issues in computational condensed matter physics and materials science.
The principal purpose of the Workshop is to offer an opportunity for exchanging ideas and enjoying in-depth discussion both in the methodology in computational physics and chemistry and its application to a wide variety of materials having not only fundamental significance and but also industrial importance.
The Workshop consists of plenary and invited talks and contributed poster presentations. The majority of the participants are active scientists and researchers in electronic structure theory from all Asian countries. Yet scientists, and researchers from other areas are also very welcome to join us.

In 2019, the Workshop will be held in Osaka University Hall of Osaka University, located in Osaka, Japan from October 28 to 30.
Osaka University Hall used to be called I-GOKAN in Japanese, is characterized by a pentagonal window or a spire (cusp) arch design called Neo Gothic. The Hall was designated as a registered tangible cultural property building in the country in 2004.

Workshop History

  • 1st workshop (1998): Joint Research Center of Atom Technology, Tsukuba, Japan
  • 2nd workshop (1999): Korea Institute for Advanced Study, Seoul, Korea
  • 3rd workshop (2000): National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba, Japan
  • 4th workshop (2001): National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan
  • 5th workshop (2002): Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea
  • 6th workshop (2003): Tsukuba International Congress Center, Tsukuba, Japan
  • 7th workshop (2004): Tamkang University, Taipei, Taiwan
  • 8th workshop (2005): Fudan University, Shanghai, China
  • 9th workshop (2006): Korea Institute for Advanced Study, Seoul, Korea
  • 10th workshop (2007): Hiroshima University, Hiroshima, Japan
  • 11th workshop (2008): National Sun Yat-sen University, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
  • 12th workshop (2009): LAS, Beijing, China
  • 13th workshop (2010): POSTECH, Pohang, Korea
  • 14th workshop (2011): The University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
  • 15th workshop (2012): Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan
  • 16th workshop (2013): Beijing Computational Science Research Center, Beijing, China
  • 17th workshop (2014): Yonsei University, Seoul, Korea
  • 18th workshop (2015): The University of Tokyo, Kashiwa, Japan
  • 19th workshop (2016): National Chiao Tung University, Hsinchu, Taiwan
  • 20th workshop (2017): Nanjing University, Nanjing, China
  • 21st workshop (2018): KAIST, Daejeon, Korea
  • 22nd workshop (2019): Osaka University, Osaka, Japan

Our Sponsors

Latest Information

Oct. 9, 2019
The Poster sessions will be held on Monday and Tuesday as shown in Program.
All the poster presenters are kindly requested to put your poster before the session on Monday and remove it soon after the session on Tuesday.
Oct. 8, 2019
The final program is up on Program Page.
Oct. 1, 2019
The station names have changed. Please check the Venue.
Sep. 18, 2019
The deadline for abstract submission is extended to 30 September 2019.
July 31, 2019
The official website was opened.